One of the most important parts of sticking to a diet or weight loss plan, is allowing yourself to cheat!   If you don’t occasionally indulge in something tasty, it can become harder and harder to avoid a total break down/binge that can cancel out days or weeks of kick butt healthiness.  But there  is an art to cheating that must be followed.  When I say cheat, I am not talking about a whole bowl of ice cream or a bag of potato chips, I am talking about cheating in the healthiest way possible that still satisfies your deepest snack attack desires.  Below I have listed some of my favorite treats that I eat when I am craving something sweet or salty, but that I still eat in moderation and only on occasion.  I do my best to choose the treat that offers the most benefits with the least disadvantages.

  • Dark Chocolate! This has to be my #1 favorite treat.  It’s loaded with antioxidants which have tons of great benefits.  It triggers the release of phenylethylamine, which cause a feeling of well being, happiness, and the sensation of being in love.  It also contains some natural caffeine.  The higher the percentage of cocoa, the more intense these benefits.  The taste becomes harsher as you move up the latter, but many people get used to it quickly.  I recently upgraded to 90% percent cocoa, and I love it now!  Beware, dark chocolate is low in sugar, but pretty high in fat.  Make sure you only eat it a few times a week and stick to the serving size or under.
  • Honey! I eat a spoonful of raw, organic locally grown honey a day.  It’s absolutely delicious, and is loaded with immune system strengthening power, antioxidants, benefits for healthy skin, and remedies many different ailments.  Be sure to get the high quality organic kind, not the processed kind with added sugar and chemicals.  BEE sure to watch out, cause it’s famous for being high in natural sugar (which hasn’t been proven to be any less fattening than fake sugar)
  • Barbecue Popped Potato Chips!   My favorite brand that carries these, is Trader Joe’s.  These tasty gluten free snacks are never fried, and taste just as good if not better than baked and fried chips.  They are very low in fat, especially compared to other kinds of chips.  But keep in mind that potato is a starch, and holds very little nutritional value.

You can be healthy without eliminating things that taste good!  There are countless other tasty snack to choose from that  aren’t bad for you.  Eat them in moderation and keep on rolling 🙂

